Cyber Security Network of Competence Centres for Europe

Project: EU project

Project Details


CyberSec4Europe is a research-based consortium with 44 participants covering 21 EU Member States and Associated Countries. It has received more than 40 support letters and promises of cooperation from public administrations, international organisations, and key associations worldwide including Europe (such as ECSO), Asia, and North America. As pilot for a Cybersecurity Competence Network, it will test and demonstrate potential governance structures for the network of competence centres using the best practices examples from the expertise and experience of the participants, including concepts like CERN. CyberSec4Europe will support addressing key EU Directives and Regulations, such as GDPR, PSD2, eIDAS, and ePrivacy, and help to implement the EU Cybersecurity Act including, but not limited to supporting the development of the European skills-base, the certification framework and ENISA’s role. The 26 ECSO participants in CyberSec4Europe are active in all 6 ECSO Working Groups, including chairing many subgroups in cybersecurity certification, vertical sectors, and international cooperation, as well as having representatives on the ECSO Board of Directors and the Cybersecurity Public-Private Partnership Board. CyberSec4Europe participants address 14 key cybersecurity domain areas, 11 technology/applications elements and nine crucial vertical sectors. With over 100 cybersecurity projects, CyberSec4Europe participants have been addressing a comprehensive set of issues across the cybersecurity domain. The project demonstration cases will address cybersecurity challenges within the vertical sectors of digital infrastructure, finance, government and smart cities, health and medicine and transportation. In addition to the demonstration of the governance structure and the operation of the network, CyberSec4Europe will develop a roadmap and recommendations for the implementation of the Network of Competence Centres using the practical experience gained in the project.
Effective start/end date1/02/1931/12/22

Collaborative partners

  • VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland
  • City of Genova (Project partner)
  • JAMK University of Applied Sciences (Project partner)
  • time.lex (Project partner)
  • Austrian Institute of Technology (AIT) (Project partner)
  • International Cyber Investigation Training Academy (ICITA) (Project partner)
  • University College Dublin (Project partner)
  • Masaryk University (Project partner)
  • Cybernetica AS (Project partner)
  • VaF s.r.o. (Project partner)
  • Conceptivity Sàrl (Project partner)
  • Foundation for Research & Technology – Hellas (FORTH) (Project partner)
  • SINTEF AS (Project partner)
  • ATOS IT Solutions and Services Iberia (ATOS) (Project partner)
  • University of Murcia (Project partner)
  • University of Luxembourg (Project partner)
  • National Research Council (CNR) (Project partner)
  • Trust in Digital Life (Project partner)
  • University of Piraeus Research Center (UPRC) (Project partner)
  • Banco Bilbao Vizcaya Argentaria, S.A. (BBVA) (Project partner)
  • Archimede Solutions SARL (Project partner)
  • Goethe University Frankfurt (Project partner) (lead)
  • University of Maribor (Project partner)
  • ABI Lab - Centro di Ricerca e Innovazione per la Banca (Project partner)
  • NEC Laboratories Europe GmbH (Project partner)
  • Politecnico di Torino (Project partner)
  • Technical University of Denmark (DTU) (Project partner)
  • Dawex Systems SAS (Project partner)
  • Intesa Sanpaolo S.p.A. (Project partner)
  • University of Trento (Project partner)
  • Universidade do Porto (Project partner)
  • Informatique Banque Populaire (i-BP) (Project partner)
  • University of Malaga (Project partner)
  • Engineering Ingegneria Informatica S.p.A. (Project partner)
  • Paul Sabatier University (Project partner)
  • University of Cyprus (Project partner)
  • Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (KU Leuven) (Project partner)
  • CTI Diophantus - Computer Technology Institute "Diophantus" (Project partner)
  • Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) (Project partner)
  • Siemens AG (Project partner)
  • Delft University of Technology (TU Delft) (Project partner)
  • Karlstad University (Project partner)
  • Open & Agile Smart Cities (Project partner)

UN Sustainable Development Goals

In 2015, UN member states agreed to 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure prosperity for all. This project contributes towards the following SDG(s):

  • SDG 4 - Quality Education

Funding category

  • EU-H2020


  • H2020-SU-ICT-2018-2
  • Organisational management / development