Does foreign ownership matter for the innovation activities of Finnish firms?

Bernd Ebersberger, Hans Lööf, Juha Oksanen

    Research output: Book/ReportReport

    Abstract

    In this study we investigate the impact of foreign ownership on the innovation activities of Finnish firms. We analyse the impact on innovation input and on innovation output. Additionally, we analyse the effect foreign ownership has on the companies' embeddedness in the innovation system and the effect foreign ownership has on public R&D funding. Finally, we investigate the firms' productivity and its dependence on foreign vs. domestic ownership. The study contributes three features to the literature. First, it investigates multiple indicators to find the effects of foreign ownership on the companies' performance. Second, the study distinguishes between different types of foreign ownership based on country of ownership; by doing so, the study accounts for home country effects through different governance styles, which are precluded in a mere foreign / domestic dichotomy. The study also singles out domestic multinational firms so as to investigate the impact multinationality has on the innovation activities. Finally, the study employs sample selection models, as well as a multiequation production function model in the vein of Crepon, Duguet and Mairesse (1998), to investigate the impact of foreign ownership.
    Original languageEnglish
    Place of PublicationEspoo
    PublisherVTT Technical Research Centre of Finland
    Number of pages49
    ISBN (Electronic)951-38-6578-9
    Publication statusPublished - 2005
    MoE publication typeNot Eligible

    Publication series

    SeriesVTT Working Papers
    Number26

    Fingerprint

    Finnish firms
    Foreign ownership
    Innovation activities
    Innovation
    Ownership
    Company performance
    Firm productivity
    Sample selection model
    Funding
    Multinational firms
    Governance
    Multinationality
    Innovation system
    Dichotomy
    Embeddedness
    Country effects
    Production function
    Home country

    Keywords

    • foreign ownership
    • innovation activities
    • innovation gaps
    • CIS
    • innovation input
    • innovation output
    • companies
    • public R&D funding
    • Finland

    Cite this

    Ebersberger, B., Lööf, H., & Oksanen, J. (2005). Does foreign ownership matter for the innovation activities of Finnish firms? Espoo: VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland. VTT Working Papers, No. 26
    Ebersberger, Bernd ; Lööf, Hans ; Oksanen, Juha. / Does foreign ownership matter for the innovation activities of Finnish firms?. Espoo : VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland, 2005. 49 p. (VTT Working Papers; No. 26).
    @book{5f468db0f125447189c1b877650be147,
    title = "Does foreign ownership matter for the innovation activities of Finnish firms?",
    abstract = "In this study we investigate the impact of foreign ownership on the innovation activities of Finnish firms. We analyse the impact on innovation input and on innovation output. Additionally, we analyse the effect foreign ownership has on the companies' embeddedness in the innovation system and the effect foreign ownership has on public R&D funding. Finally, we investigate the firms' productivity and its dependence on foreign vs. domestic ownership. The study contributes three features to the literature. First, it investigates multiple indicators to find the effects of foreign ownership on the companies' performance. Second, the study distinguishes between different types of foreign ownership based on country of ownership; by doing so, the study accounts for home country effects through different governance styles, which are precluded in a mere foreign / domestic dichotomy. The study also singles out domestic multinational firms so as to investigate the impact multinationality has on the innovation activities. Finally, the study employs sample selection models, as well as a multiequation production function model in the vein of Crepon, Duguet and Mairesse (1998), to investigate the impact of foreign ownership.",
    keywords = "foreign ownership, innovation activities, innovation gaps, CIS, innovation input, innovation output, companies, public R&D funding, Finland",
    author = "Bernd Ebersberger and Hans L{\"o}{\"o}f and Juha Oksanen",
    note = "Project code: P2SU00143",
    year = "2005",
    language = "English",
    series = "VTT Working Papers",
    publisher = "VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland",
    number = "26",
    address = "Finland",

    }

    Ebersberger, B, Lööf, H & Oksanen, J 2005, Does foreign ownership matter for the innovation activities of Finnish firms? VTT Working Papers, no. 26, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland, Espoo.

    Does foreign ownership matter for the innovation activities of Finnish firms? / Ebersberger, Bernd; Lööf, Hans; Oksanen, Juha.

    Espoo : VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland, 2005. 49 p. (VTT Working Papers; No. 26).

    Research output: Book/ReportReport

    TY - BOOK

    T1 - Does foreign ownership matter for the innovation activities of Finnish firms?

    AU - Ebersberger, Bernd

    AU - Lööf, Hans

    AU - Oksanen, Juha

    N1 - Project code: P2SU00143

    PY - 2005

    Y1 - 2005

    N2 - In this study we investigate the impact of foreign ownership on the innovation activities of Finnish firms. We analyse the impact on innovation input and on innovation output. Additionally, we analyse the effect foreign ownership has on the companies' embeddedness in the innovation system and the effect foreign ownership has on public R&D funding. Finally, we investigate the firms' productivity and its dependence on foreign vs. domestic ownership. The study contributes three features to the literature. First, it investigates multiple indicators to find the effects of foreign ownership on the companies' performance. Second, the study distinguishes between different types of foreign ownership based on country of ownership; by doing so, the study accounts for home country effects through different governance styles, which are precluded in a mere foreign / domestic dichotomy. The study also singles out domestic multinational firms so as to investigate the impact multinationality has on the innovation activities. Finally, the study employs sample selection models, as well as a multiequation production function model in the vein of Crepon, Duguet and Mairesse (1998), to investigate the impact of foreign ownership.

    AB - In this study we investigate the impact of foreign ownership on the innovation activities of Finnish firms. We analyse the impact on innovation input and on innovation output. Additionally, we analyse the effect foreign ownership has on the companies' embeddedness in the innovation system and the effect foreign ownership has on public R&D funding. Finally, we investigate the firms' productivity and its dependence on foreign vs. domestic ownership. The study contributes three features to the literature. First, it investigates multiple indicators to find the effects of foreign ownership on the companies' performance. Second, the study distinguishes between different types of foreign ownership based on country of ownership; by doing so, the study accounts for home country effects through different governance styles, which are precluded in a mere foreign / domestic dichotomy. The study also singles out domestic multinational firms so as to investigate the impact multinationality has on the innovation activities. Finally, the study employs sample selection models, as well as a multiequation production function model in the vein of Crepon, Duguet and Mairesse (1998), to investigate the impact of foreign ownership.

    KW - foreign ownership

    KW - innovation activities

    KW - innovation gaps

    KW - CIS

    KW - innovation input

    KW - innovation output

    KW - companies

    KW - public R&D funding

    KW - Finland

    M3 - Report

    T3 - VTT Working Papers

    BT - Does foreign ownership matter for the innovation activities of Finnish firms?

    PB - VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland

    CY - Espoo

    ER -

    Ebersberger B, Lööf H, Oksanen J. Does foreign ownership matter for the innovation activities of Finnish firms? Espoo: VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland, 2005. 49 p. (VTT Working Papers; No. 26).