SAFIR2010: The Finnish Research Programme on Nuclear Power Plant Safety 2007-2010: Final Report

Eija Puska (Editor), Vesa Suolanen (Editor)

    Research output: Book/ReportReport


    Major part of Finnish public research on nuclear power plant safety during the years 2007-2010 has been carried out in the SAFIR2010 programme. The steering group of SAFIR2010 consisted of representatives from Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority (STUK), Ministry of Employment and the Economy (MEE), Technical Research Centre of Finland (VTT), Teollisuuden Voima Oyj (TVO), Fortum Power and Heat Oyj, Fortum Nuclear Services Oy (Fortum), Finnish Funding Agency for Technology and Innovation (Tekes), Aalto University School of Science and Technology (Aalto, former Helsinki University of Technology) and Lappeenranta University of Technology (LUT). In addition to representatives of these organisations, the Steering Group had permanent experts from the Swedish Radiation Safety Authority (SSM) and Fennovoima Oy (Fennovoima). SAFIR2010 research programme was divided in eight research areas that were Organisation and human, Automation and control room, Fuel and reactor physics, Thermal hydraulics, Severe accidents, Structural safety of reactor circuit, Construction safety, and Probabilistic Safety Analysis (PSA). Research projects of the programme were chosen on the basis of annual call for proposals. The annual volume of the SAFIR2010-programme in 2007-2010 has been 6,5-7,1 M and approximately 50 person years. Main funding organisations in 2007-2010 have been the State Waste Management Fund VYR with 2,7-3,0 M and VTT with 2,4-2,7 M annually. In 2010 research was carried out in 33 projects. The research in the programme has been carried out primarily by VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland. Other research units responsible for the projects solely or in co-operation with other institutions include Lappeenranta University of Technology, Aalto University (previously Helsinki University of Technology), Tampere University of Technology, Fortum Power and Heat Oy (previously Fortum Nuclear Services Oy), Finnish Institute of Occupational Health and Finnish Meteorological Institute. In addition, there have been a few minor subcontractors in some projects. The programme management structure consisted of the steering group, a reference group in each of the eight research areas and a number of ad hoc groups in the various research areas. This report gives a summary of the technical results of the SAFIR2010 programme from the entire programme with emphasis on the results achieved during the years 2009-2010. The results obtained during the years 2007-2008 have been reported in detail in the Interim Seminar Report.
    Original languageEnglish
    Place of PublicationEspo
    PublisherVTT Technical Research Centre of Finland
    Number of pages582
    ISBN (Electronic)978-951-38-7690-6
    ISBN (Print)978-951-38-7689-0
    Publication statusPublished - 2011
    MoE publication typeNot Eligible

    Publication series

    SeriesVTT Tiedotteita - Research Notes


    • nuclear safety
    • safety management
    • nuclear power plants
    • human factors
    • automation systems
    • operating practices
    • control room technology
    • nuclear fuels
    • reactor physics
    • thermal hydraulics
    • core transient analysis
    • steam generators
    • Modelling
    • Accidents
    • structural safety


    Dive into the research topics of 'SAFIR2010: The Finnish Research Programme on Nuclear Power Plant Safety 2007-2010: Final Report'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

    Cite this